Archaeology Seasons

Four seasons fill my archaeology year
There are four seasons in my mind
I have the busy Autumn, students appear
Eager to begin the academic grind
I have Winter, when laboriously
Summer’s boxes of ancient soil, I love
To process in the lab, analyse the slides
Microscopes and chemicals and gloves
The soul is Summer, I spread my wings
Leave labs behind, and head into the field
To dig the earth – to sieve, uncover things
Once unheeded are now revealed
Then writing papers, grants for funding,
Planning lectures, the students are coming!

seasons

Leave a Reply

