It starts

The end of September is very much the start of my seasonal cycle – new students, new projects, a new academic year. I’m scheduling today’s post in advance, as I know that I’m going to be very busy this week and next. I now know what my teaching timetable is going to be for the next academic year, and it’s about to start very soon. Next week is induction week, when the new first year undergraduates are introduced to their subject area and all of the information they need to know to begin their studies. We’ll be taking them on a day trip to the Old Lowlight in North Shields, for a day of traditional craft activities. It’s a nice way of introducing the practical side of archaeology, and also it’s a bit of an ice breaker so everyone gets to chat to each other informally. Although this September marks the beginning of my second year as an archaeology lecturer at Newcastle, I still feel like I am learning the ropes! I have shifted to a full teaching load (rather than the ‘light’ load new lecturers are given for their first year), so I still have a lot of new lectures to write and practical classes to organise. I’ve just finished my CASAP teacher training this week (Newcastle’s postgraduate Certificate in Advanced Studies in Academic Practice), so I don’t even feel like I’ve had time to prepare for meeting the incoming students! So when this post goes live, I’ll be in the midst of lecture prep and meeting my new tutees…

rb

Writing new lectures for Intro to Archaeology!

Leave a Reply

