16 December 2016

archaeological-year-16th-december

December Discovery.

While clearing out a cupboard, I came across a folder of photos and prints and relics of my time as an undergraduate archaeology student.

Among the relics was this image, drawn with a dip pen and ink at my desk in my (chilly) room in a shared flat in Glasgow’s West End.

I had forgotten that I used to spend hours making rather wobbly versions of images in my course book “The Anglo-Saxons” (edited by James Campbell).

These guys certainly aren’t perfect (I don’t do perfection) and my line is hesitant, but I love the expressions I’ve unintentionally added to their faces, their distinct personalities that jumped out of my uncertain penmanship.

archaeological-year-16th-december-02

All these years later, I’d like to know their story.

Leave a Reply

