2 January 2017

The date may have rolled over onto another year but long term projects continue. I’ve posted before about the war memorials project I am working on  (22 July 2016), something I tend to think about when I’m technically on holiday at my parents’ home in Lincolnshire. Over the New Year weekend I recorded 11 memorials and have somewhat optimistic plans to do another eight today. Previously I’ve thought about these places as commemorative spaces, perhaps falling into a trap of thinking of them as being ‘out of time’. Today though I am struck by how the experience of them is incredibly grounded in the here and now as I battle changing winter weather conditions. There has been fog (can’t find the memorials….), bright sunlight (can’t see the memorials) and heavy rain (just not going out…sorry!)

img_1066

Weathered spaces

img_4132

Leave a Reply

